Eager to Learn

Discussion in 'New Member Welcome Center' started by Steve B, Dec 29, 2019.

1. Steve B

Steve B In Second Gear

Hello everyone!
    I'm a Newbie Member, and trying to figure how to manipulate around the Forum's and website?
    I've recently purchased a 1970 Ranchero GT, 351C, 4spd car that I'm eager to play with.
    Tonight was a night of searching for various info on the Ranchero and I happily came across this site.
    My 70 is "suppose" to be a numbers matching car, thou I couldn't read a block number to verify. The car has a recent paint job but needs to be detailed and some electrical issues corrected. My latest research concerns the various rear gear ratio's offered on this model. I was told it was a posi, thou the VIN number indicates a 3:25 open rearend. Once home a quick jacking up of the car and a spin of the rear wheels verifies it's a non posi setup. No tag on the third member, so only time will tell how we improve the exst 9" rear.
    Anyways, I'm in the beautiful rainy Pacific NW and once I finish another project (41 Chevy Pickup) I'm on to the Ranchero. Have a great Holiday Season, and GO SEAHAWKS!

HuevosRanchero likes this.
  2. Gary Gray

Gary Gray In First Gear

Steve,
    Good luck with your build. I also have a "70" , 351C - now 408ci, 5spd, I had 3:89 gears in it, but changed to a 3:25 for easier cruising. Too old to race - be careful with the brake system. I had to change for safety sake also changed the pwr steering -now it cruises nicely and can stop.

3. Steve B

Steve B In Second Gear

Gary, you've done some great mods to your 70. Would love to see a picture of how all that fit under the hood. The 5spd & 3:25 setup must work well, and I'm curious about the hydra boost... is it the same size as a std vacuum boost?