Welding machine

Discussion in 'General Ranchero Help' started by stabmasterarson, Jul 26, 2020.

1. stabmasterarson

stabmasterarson In Third Gear BRONZE MEMBER

Hey everyone, I'm thinking about purchasing my first welding machine. I'm just looking for something second hand on Craiglist to weld up brackets and stuff for the Ranchero. I'm not a pro Auto body mechanic or anything. I've never even welded before but I'm a quick learner. Which type should I get? I was thinking maybe a stick welder? Any advice what I should look for?

2. Boiler92

Boiler92 In Overdrive SILVER MEMBER

I'm just a very amateur welder myself but in my experience I would get a mig with gas over a stick welder. Also, I have a Hobart 135. It's not big enough for some of the stuff I've wanted to do. It's was used and a good deal though.

If I were going to buy another I'd get the Hobart 210 or similar. It can do thicker material than my current one and works on either 120v or 240v.

3. RancheroRandy

RancheroRandy In Maximum Overdrive

I got a great deal on a Lincoln 140 on CL and it is adequate...a 180 would have been better so I agree with Boiler92 Welder.jpg

The Wrench and pmrphil like this.
  4. Jeff B

Jeff B In Maximum Overdrive BRONZE MEMBER

MIG with gas again, you can use flux wire on the same machine when needed. Stay with a brand name Lincoln or Miller etc. and avoid the cheapo units like Harbor Freight. They work but are harder to learn on. Don't forget the gloves, hood and long sleeves as well as a safe area to work in. Take a class if you are inclined (post Covid) and there are zillions of videos on the Youtubes. Good luck.

5. plumcolr

plumcolr In Maximum Overdrive SILVER MEMBER

Ditto on the class. Many community colleges have beginner night classes at very little, sometimes no, cost You can self-learn in which case the secret is practice, practice, practice.

6. 1979 RANCHERO GT

1979 RANCHERO GT In Maximum Overdrive