Another new guy

Discussion in 'New Member Welcome Center' started by neil brown, May 11, 2019.

1. neil brown

neil brown In Second Gear

Hi, it looks like i'm buying a 65 Ranchero tomorrow, so, i thought i'd find some like minded people to chat to and obviously help sort out the 'challenges' of an old car that I know nothing about.
    I've been into cars for years, owning my first at 15, a 53 bug. I've had alot of vw's, all cal look inspired, and currently own a 54 bug and a 71 bus. I also own a 40 ford Sedan, which I'm slowly hot rodding. So i'm not a complete novice, I know my way around a spanner and a welder. Heres a pic of the truck. Its a 6, but has front and rear discs, and an 8.8 rear with lsd. truck.jpg but know nothing about these trucks.

2. Doc76251

Doc76251 In Fourth Gear

Nice Ride!! Welcome aboard! You will certainly find many folks here that can answer those nagging questions. "Spanner" ? England, OZ or NZ?

Cheers,

Doc

3. beerbelly

beerbelly In Maximum Overdrive SILVER MEMBER

Very nice!

4. 5.0 Chero

5.0 Chero Bahumbug Staff Member

Looks like it says UK in his location and from the looks of the front plate
    Nice looking little chero I believe you will find that the rear end is a modified exploder rear end a very common swap
    the wheels are explorer also

5. neil brown

Yes Doc, England, and thanks chero, i knew the wheels are Explorer, didnt realise the axle would be as well. Would they be Explorer discs aswell?

6. 5.0 Chero

5.0 Chero Bahumbug Staff Member

Rear yes probability is high that they are. The explorer 8.8 is a cheap and strong swap for early falcons and mustangs the pumpkin is offset so you just shorten one axle tube and use 2 short axles. Almost do not even need a jig to weld it

7. PonyExpressRider

PonyExpressRider In Maximum Overdrive

welcome... nice ride

8. cbolt

cbolt In Overdrive SILVER MEMBER

Welcome aboard! Whereabouts in the UK? We visit NW England a couple times a year to visit friends.

9. neil brown