What oil are you using?

Discussion in 'General Ranchero Help' started by beerbelly, Sep 9, 2020.

1. beerbelly

beerbelly In Maximum Overdrive SILVER MEMBER

I've been using Valvoline VR1 10W-30 for several years, and it seems to be a fine oil, high in zinc for my old flat tappet 289. It's getting spendy, even at Amazon, so I've been kicking around the idea of trying a semi or full synthetic, like Mobil 1 10W40 High Mileage, which claims to have high levels of zinc also. Better price, but I've heard the stories about leaks after switching from conventional to synthetic too.

I'd like to hear what others are using, especially if you've switched from dino to synth, and how that worked out.

Buds 67 likes this.
  2. pmrphil

pmrphil In Maximum Overdrive GOLD MEMBER

Same as you, VR1 - I use Mobil1 in all the newer cars here, but not in the older pieces. If there's a place to leak, synthetic will find it. The lack of a PCV valve is almost a guarantee of a leak with synthetic. The Valvoline is cheap insurance.

Basstrix, Buds 67 and beerbelly like this.
  3. handy_andy_cv64

handy_andy_cv64 In Maximum Overdrive SILVER MEMBER

I have a cousin who, by trade, is a petrochem engineer (but is now a professor at Washington State U.), and in discussions with him, the syn oil leakage in older cars has pretty much been alleviated when a seal actually doesn't leak on dino oil. It's generally only where a seal/seal surface is so worn, that it will leak dino oil that it really leaks out synthetic. I'll be testing that when I do Babe's next oil change, as I'll be going back to full syn oil. My cousins recommends Castrol's and Valvoline's formulas.

Last edited: Sep 10, 2020
    Buds 67 likes this.
  4. pmrphil

Hey Andy -
    I don't know what "sun oil leakage" is, but I can tell you that older seals were made of different materials that do not respond well to synthetics, resulting in leaks.

Buds 67 and TestDummy like this.
  5. TestDummy