200 ci dieseling?

Discussion in 'Ranchero Tech Help' started by 66Ranchero, Jul 16, 2017.

1. 66Ranchero

66Ranchero In First Gear

Hey guys!
    I'm loving my Ranchero but I've noticed that it diesels pretty bad after turning the key off. The whole truck rattles and then engine sounds like it's winding down. I'm running 91 octane in it and it always starts up instantly no matter it's temp and it runs like a sewing machine! Where should I start? I'm new to owning a classic car so I apologize if this has been posted before.
    Thanks!
    -Hayden

2. handy_andy_cv64

handy_andy_cv64 In Maximum Overdrive SILVER MEMBER

Usually, 'dieseling' can be caused by either having the throttle stop screw turned in too much (sometimes to mask other problems in an attempt to get an engine to start or run better), or the engine has run rich for a long time, and carbon buildup becomes so hot, that as the turning engine will still pull fuel and air into the cylinders, that heated carbon 'flashes' it, which causes the engine to continue turning after the ignition is turned off.

3. pmrphil

pmrphil In Fourth Gear GOLD MEMBER

Also check the ignition timing, if it's too far advanced that can cause it to "run on", as can too high of an idle.

4. ribald1

ribald1 In Maximum Overdrive PLATINUM MEMBER

How can advanced timing play a role? The spark circuit is off.

5. tony o

tony o In Third Gear