Learn to weld or get crappy job done?

Discussion in 'General Ranchero Help' started by merlock18, May 19, 2017.

Tags:
  1. merlock18

merlock18 In First Gear

So I've got some major holes in the truck bed of my '72. I just want it patched. It doesn't have to be pretty because I am spraying bedliner down as soon as the holes are fixed.
    I've got the beast at a body shop and they think there is more rust than can be seen and once they start scraping it away there wont be a bed left. They want to bolt down sheet metal over the whole bed and spray on top of that. I can imagine my project looking good like this at all.
    I am really skeptical the problem is as bad as they say. The rust is along the bar where the bed and storage of the interior meet. I assume it's a common problem area.
    Should I get a cheap welder from the hardware store, find some decent metal and do it myself? I have ZERO experience welding and I hate to trivialize a solid industry and trade but it cant be too hard since I am not talking beautiful of precision welds here. I feel like any kid who had shop class could do a good enough job before I spray the bedliner down.
    Thoughts?

2. 1965 Ranchero 66G

1965 Ranchero 66G In Third Gear PLATINUM MEMBER

Can't weld rust & it never stops, cut out all of the bad & hopefully you have something to weld to.

3. ribald1

ribald1 In Maximum Overdrive PLATINUM MEMBER

Don't go with a cheap welder. You want a decent MIG that uses gas, not flux core wire. You could rent one.
    Another option is to go to http://www.eastwood.com/ , look at their body panel products.
    A combination of fasteners and panel adhesive could create a job that would look somewhere between acceptable and good depending on the effort you put it.
    Just snag similar looking metal flooring from trucks or vans at the junk yard.

4. merlock18

merlock18 In First Gear