Ranchero USA  

Go Back   Ranchero USA > Off-Topic > General Automotive Questions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

General Automotive Questions Questions about that 2nd Car or Truck of yours!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2007, 04:39 PM   #1
Fomoco8
Senior Member
 
Fomoco8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,699
Post

ANyone here running a HOlley Electric fuel pump? I am on the third one in months leaking out the upper body weep hole, The first one was a blue about 4 years old, replaced the gasket, still leaked, replaced the housing ,less leak but out the weep hole, Got a new summitt pump and it lasted about 7 weeks and its leaking out the weep hole too. Any ideas? ethanol in the new gas screwing with the seals? I am going to replace it with a Mallory or Aeroquip with a new regulator but am trying to get a handle on what he heck is happening to the darn things, any input appreciated,

[ February 22, 2007, 05:40 PM: Message edited by: Fomoco8 ]
__________________
Spence "Faster Damn It!!"

My 78 GT "The Beast"
Fomoco8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 09:49 PM   #2
GregoryM
Senior Member
 
GregoryM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 425
Post

I've only heard negative comments about Holley pumps in the various forums (electric and mechanical). Are you using a regulator? If so, is it a by-passing type with a return line to the tank? A by-passing regulator seems to help maintain consistant pressure and relieves the pump from "dead heading" under low demand conditions. I have a new Holley electric pump, but I will probably peddle it on e-pay. I don't have much confidence in it. I think the Mallory pumps are better quality. JMO
__________________
'67 390 powered XL 500 Ranchero
GregoryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 06:00 AM   #3
Fomoco8
Senior Member
 
Fomoco8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,699
Post

Regulator in front set at 6 PSI, No return to tank, THis pump had no issues except for the famous Holley noise for years, the last 3 bodies have had this same leak, right at the weep hole in the casting, not the bottom gasket, \I'm thinking Mallory 140 with regulator myself, I hear good about them all the time and hell it's time for a change

[ February 23, 2007, 07:02 AM: Message edited by: Fomoco8 ]
__________________
Spence "Faster Damn It!!"

My 78 GT "The Beast"
Fomoco8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 06:17 AM   #4
pdw72
Senior Member
 
pdw72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: southeast MN
Posts: 1,280
Post

I put one on my bronco about 1-1/2 years ago, haven't developed a leak but it did quit working on me last week. Only clicks once when powered, I haven't looked at it much yet.

My question is how are you guys powering it, now I have it routed through an oil pressure switch?
__________________
Paul

http://photobucket.com/my72in_process

HOLY CARP
pdw72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 07:05 AM   #5
Fomoco8
Senior Member
 
Fomoco8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,699
Post

I power mine from a left over hot lead from removing the Duraspark and installing the MSD I have now, I use an oil pressure safety switch from Holley. Any keyed ignition wire will work, tap in under the dash or at the fuse block or the firewall connector,also I have it fused in the run that powers the pump in case of an overload, You may have to install a relay to ensure full power at all times , I hear that can help,

[ February 23, 2007, 08:08 AM: Message edited by: Fomoco8 ]
__________________
Spence "Faster Damn It!!"

My 78 GT "The Beast"
Fomoco8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 07:38 AM   #6
pdw72
Senior Member
 
pdw72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: southeast MN
Posts: 1,280
Post

Thanks Spence, that's generally how I wired it less the relay. I used the wiring under the hood that used to control the fuel injection. Generally everything seems to be ok except I now have no oil pressure reading because of the switch I used was supposedly for a chevy and works opposite of the ford light, if I have a reading, then I have a problem. Another question pertaining to this swap, how do I get 6v power for my choke coil? Currently it is wired at 12v but opens far too quickly. It is a factory holley on an 85 5.8HO motor.

[ February 23, 2007, 08:58 AM: Message edited by: pdw72 ]
__________________
Paul

http://photobucket.com/my72in_process

HOLY CARP
pdw72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 08:27 AM   #7
Fomoco8
Senior Member
 
Fomoco8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,699
Post

Where have got the tap for the choke now? I think the alternator harness has a dropped voltage on it, If not then you can wire in a resistor to drop the voltage at the coil. You'll need to know the current value being drawn and then apply Ohms law to that I= current x R= Resistance = E= Voltage. So the current times the reistance will equal the voltage , the idea is get 6 volts across the resistor when measured with a DVM, First try and get the voltage measurement across the choke terminals as they are now, then adjust it from there,
__________________
Spence "Faster Damn It!!"

My 78 GT "The Beast"
Fomoco8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 09:04 AM   #8
rohojo1
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Just a thought, if you are having consistent problems with a product, the manufacturer needs to know so they can correct the deficiency. They each have a website and like to get feedback on their products, good, bad or indifferent. Give 'em an e-mail or phone call to let them know what you think about their products.
VR
Bob J.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 09:49 AM   #9
Fomoco8
Senior Member
 
Fomoco8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,699
Post

Initially I contacted Holley and got a positive response, I just sent them another email at the Tech dept so I'll have to wait and see what they have to say, Although I won't hold my breath expecting them to admit anything wrong , I've had issues with them before and sometimes you win and others you lose,
__________________
Spence "Faster Damn It!!"

My 78 GT "The Beast"
Fomoco8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 09:59 AM   #10
GregoryM
Senior Member
 
GregoryM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 425
Post

I would definitely second Spence's suggestion to use a relay and a Hobbs pressure switch for safety's sake. Do not run a high amp load through the ignition switch- it's just not up to the task and it is just plain dangerous IMO. Re. the electric choke, don't you just love 'em (sarcasm)? My Holley will get a cable operated choke. Works every time. The good old exhaust heated ones work great too. The thing I dislike the most about the elec. ones is, they don't sense the engine temperature after it is warmed up- hot start. More often than not, it seems to apply at least some choke when none is needed. That just ticks me off. Gettin' crabby in my old age I guess.
__________________
'67 390 powered XL 500 Ranchero
GregoryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.