Clearance lights on a topper on my 1977 Wiring.

Discussion in 'General Ranchero Help' started by Rancherestorer19, Jun 22, 2017.

1. Rancherestorer19

Rancherestorer19 In Fourth Gear

Hey guys I have no hitch or trailer wiring on my '77 Ranchero GT, I have a Topper and it has clearance lights on it, but I don't know where I should draw power from for them. it has a weird 6 pin connector up toward the cab. Is there something I am missing here? Where did that plug into? or do I need to wire something up? If that is the case I need something coming off of my park lights and left/right turn signal. There is also a battery hot that needs to go to the door so that when it is open the dome light at the top of the cargo area in the topper can come on. do I just need to run new wires off of these? Where should I get the power.. What is the best way to go about this?

I am a Journeyman Electrician, so I can definitely do some wiring if I need to.
    The top connector is what the one coming off of the topper looks like, but I have no connector on the truck for it.
    [​IMG]
    Where do I need to tap into to get my hot connections for the lights?

2. handy_andy_cv64

handy_andy_cv64 In Maximum Overdrive SILVER MEMBER

The running lights will be connected to the trucks running/parking light circuit. So, one of those wires on the pigtail should be matched to the parking light circuit. As for the other wires, black is ground, so that and perhaps the green wire can be used for the lights.

3. Rancherestorer19