Follow along to see a total NOOB work on a 65 'Chero with her dad

Discussion in 'The Stable' started by JVan65Chero, Jan 28, 2021.

Tags:
  1. JVan65Chero

JVan65Chero In First Gear

I've always loved classic cars (my dad has been restoring a 50s Windsor for 30+ years, lol), and I knew that I'd eventually want a project car myself one day, but never knew what that would be until the first time I saw a picture of a Ranchero. I was in love!! I'm sure you all understand that feeling. We just picked up a 1965 Ranchero this week and I wanted to start this thread to track our progress and hold myself accountable so we keep up momentum on the build. .

I have very minimal knowledge (hence the "total noob" in the title) and am looking at this as an opportunity to learn AND bond with my pops. Aside from knowledge, experience, and fun, here are the goals I'm hoping to achieve with the build:
    • Daily driver, more function than fancy (I want to use it as a truck & not worry about scratched paint, etc.)
    • I live in Arizona so I'd like it to handle freeway speeds, and I'll probably add A/C at some point
    • Occasional pop-ins to local Cars & Coffee meetups, just for fun
    • I plan on keeping this for many many moons, so I want to do things the right way even if it takes a while
    • I'm OK with elements not being stock or true to the period, as long as it doesn't look too modern or crazy anywhere other than under the hood.
    It was originally a 3 on the tree and at some point was converted to 3 on the floor. I'm thinking of switching out to a 4 or 5 speed manual trans (still doing some research on that). The first things we're planning to tackle are:
    1. Fix the exhaust (right now we have to keep the windows down if we drive it anywhere, and I want to keep it moving while we're working on the rest of the truck)
    2. Dig in and clean up any rust spots
    3. Patch up any bad areas (don't see any yet thank goodness, but not sure what we'll uncover)